RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Removing Honey from the comb?

Reply to topic     Forum Index » Processing Honey View previous topic
View next topic
Removing Honey from the comb?
Bill from NJ

Post Removing Honey from the comb? Reply with quote
Good evening everyone,

I am very new at bee keeping, and only have 2 backyard hives.

My question(s) for everyone is:

-How can I extract honey from the comb without using any fancy modern mechanical equipment?

-How was the honey extracted many years ago, before spinning gizmo's and the like?

-Does anyone here have ideas or easy to make plans to "build" something cheaply that would squeeze and separate the honey from the comb?

To clarify further: This is only to be used to extract maybe a gallon or so of honey, so nothing elaborate. Keep it basic and simple please.

I just wanted to stimulate some conversation and participate a little here on this forum.

Thanks in advance for the assistance.

Regards,
Bill from NJ

Sat Apr 28, 2007 8:48 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
beeworks
Site Admin

Post Removing Honey? Reply with quote
A simple way would be to crush the comb, place in a strainer or muslin bag and hang, allowing the honey to drip out.
Some major problems apart from the mess would be old or cold honey gets thicker and won't run and the cost would be prohibitive as new foundation would be required each year. This method would in fact reduce the honey crop as it takes a considerable amount of honey to make wax.
All in all not a satisfactory method at all.
Another method would be to make a solar wax melter. Placing the whole frame inside and allow the honey and wax to melt. When cold the two will separate, wax on top of honey. Again the cost is the major snag.
beeworks

Mon Apr 30, 2007 9:12 am View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Bill from NJ

Post Reply with quote
Thank you for your reply.